The University of Minnesota Law School’s Institute on Race & Poverty (IRP) in cooperation with the Association of Metropolitan Municipalities (Metro Cities) and the Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD) invite you to attend “Region: Law, Policy and the Future of the Twin Cities.” The conference will highlight the demographic, transportation, education, and land use challenges facing the Twin Cities, and the available policy alternatives, given the metro’s unique regional and local governance structures. Speakers will inlcude Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak and Metropolitan Council Chair, Peter Bell.

Please contact Dawn Hoover, Administrative Coordinator for IRP with any questions at 612-624-8329 or dhoover@umn.edu.

Please RSVP for this FREE event. Download form (PDF) and email, fax or mail your RSVP today.

University of Minnesota Law School
Walter F. Mondale Hall
229 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Room 25
Map & Directions (Google Maps)

· RSVP Form (PDF)
· Conference Agenda (PDF)
· Save the Date Flyer (PDF)
· Conference Poster (PDF)

Conference Program
Thursday, October 23, 2008

  • Welcome and Introductions of Conference Hosts and Sponsors
    9:15 – 9:45 am
    Guest Welcome: David Wippman, Dean, University of Minnesota Law School
  • Panel 1: Twin Cities Regional Development, Past, Present & Projections
    9:45 – 11:45 am
    Highlight: Planning and Growth in the Core and Collar Counties

    Confirmed Panelists:

    1. Jan Callison, Mayor, Minnetonka
    2. Thomas M. Crosby, Mayor, Medina; Attorney, Faegre & Benson, LLP
    3. Debbie Goettel, Mayor, Richfield
    4. Judith Martin, Professor of Geography and Director of Urban Studies, University of Minnesota
    5. Sharon Pfeifer, Director of Community Relations, Department of Natural Resources

  • Buffet Lunch, Spannaus Commons
    Noon – 1:30 pm
  • Panel 2: Regional Development Essential Links: Schools and Housing
    1:30 – 3:00 pm
    Highlight: Regional Integration

    Confirmed Panelists:

    1. Bill Green, Superintendent, Minneapolis Public Schools
    2. Ben Kanninen, Director of School Success, Community Action Council
    3. Melissa Krull, Superintendent, Eden Prairie Schools
    4. Tonja Orr, Minnesota Housing and Finance Agency
    5. Carl Wahlstrom, East Metro Integration District #6067

  • Break
    3:00-3:15 pm
  • Panel 3: Keys to Regional Economic Development: Transportation and Jobs
    3:15 – 4:45 pm
    Highlight: Geography of Employment

    Confirmed Panelists:

    1. Doug Anderson, Mayor, Dayton
    2. Guy Peterson, Community Development Director, Metropolitan Council
    3. R.T. Rybak, Mayor, Minneapolis
    4. John W. Shardlow, Principal, Bonestroo
Friday, October 24, 2008

  • Panel 4: Governing American Metropolitan Areas
    9:30 – 11:45 am
    Highlight: Regional versus Local Solutions to the Region’s Problems

    Confirmed Panelists:

    1. Peter Bell, Chairman, Metropolitan Council
    2. Scott Croonquist, Executive Director, Association of Metropolitan School Districts
    3. Louis Jambois, Executive Director, Metro Cities
    4. Myron Orfield, Executive Director, Institute on Race & Poverty

“Region” is made possible through funding from the following generous sponsors: University Metropolitan Consortium, University of Minnesota; Center for Urban and Regional Affairs (CURA); Office for Public Engagement, University of Minnesota; and Spring Hill Center of the Minneapolis Foundation.